Archives For translocation

During two weeks in May, seven juvenile shore plover/tūturuatu were translocated to Waikawa Island off Mahia Peninsula. This was the last of two translocation for the year. Local biodiversity ranger Helen Jonas explains what’s involved in keeping this population of rare birds going. 

Continue Reading...

It’s now over six weeks since the first 18 takahē took flight (so to speak) to their new home in Kahurangi National Park. Takahē Advocacy Ranger Julie Harvey updates us on the birds progress in their new home.

Continue Reading...

DOC Communications Advisor Des Williams writes about the recent translocation of little spotted kiwi from Kapiti and Mercury Islands to the Hawke’s Bay mainland haven.

Continue Reading...

Today’s photo of the week is a whio starting the journey to a new home in Mount Aspiring National Park.

Continue Reading...

Today’s photo of the week is from last week’s mohua/yellowhead release in Eglinton valley, Fiordland.

Continue Reading...

Moving juvenile kiwi from a predator-free crèche island back to their natural range isn’t as straight forward as you might think! DOC Biodiversity Ranger, Ieuan Davies, explains.

Continue Reading...

Today’s photo shows one of the Coromandel brown kiwi relocated to predator-free Motutapu Island in the Hauraki Gulf last week.

Kiwi being released on Motutapu. Photo by Kiwis for Kiwi.

It was the biggest ever single translocation of Coromandel brown kiwi and was done to create new diversity and future-proof the species.

Did you know?

There are 5 kiwi species:

  • Little spotted kiwi on several offshore islands and at Karori Sanctuary in Wellington
  • Great spotted kiwi/roroa in the northern South Island
  • Brown kiwi in the North Island
  • Rowi at Okarito, on the West Coast of the South Island
  • Tokoeka in the South Island (Fiordland, the Haast Range and on Stewart Island) and on Kapiti Island.

2 of the 5 kiwi species have distinct geographical varieties within them:

  • Brown kiwi have four geographically and genetically distinct forms: Northland, Coromandel, western and eastern.
  • Tokoeka also have four distinct geographical forms: Haast, northern Fiordland, southern Fiordland, and Stewart Island.